HOW TO REMOVE GREEN/BLUE DYE FROM YOUR HAIR!

DISCLAIMER- EVERYTHING IN THIS BLOG POST IS TAKEN FROM MY OWN, PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. THIS IS IN NO WAY PROFESSIONAL, NOR HAS IT BEEN APPROVED BY A PROFESSIONAL. THIS METHOD WORKED ON MY HAIR TYPE BUT MAY NOT WORK ON YOURS.


At the beginning of my summer break, I decided to dye my hair using Crazy Colour. I had already dyed it once, but the expected purple had really turned out to be grey/silver. I then decided I would buy the next purple in the shade chart- “Violette”.

Crazy Colour

Crazy Colour “Violette”

I applied the dye, and left it for an hour, before washing it out. The colour looked slightly darker than I imagined, but I just put that down to my hair being wet. I then towel dried my hair, before applying heat protection and finally blow drying it. Once it was fully dry, I realised that the colour was much darker than I had planned.

11694816_10205224778034485_2868042665831576258_n

I left my hair to fade for about four weeks, washing it ever other night with anti-dandruff shampoo, as I read this removes artificial colour from hair. This worked slightly, but my hair was still too blue. I needed it to be blonde again for school, and this is how I did it…


Step 1- Wash your hair with anti-dandruff shampoo. This lightens the colour of your hair, bringing it from a blue, to more of a turquoise shade.

Step 2- Apply a hair stripper or stripping shampoo. This made my hair all one shade, rather than different intensities of blue and green.

Step 3- Use a hair dye with a slight bleaching agent in it. This does far less damage to your hair than a full strength bleach would do, but is still quite damaging. I used Schwarzkoph Colour Live  XXL, in the shade “Max Blonde”. This dramatically lightened my hair, and restored quite a lot of blonde, there were however still some green sections.

z

Step 4- Dye your hair for the final time. This will be the colour that you want to be permanently. For example, I chose the darkest blonde shade I could, which cancelled out the remaining streaks of blue/green.


After Care

First of all, I got a hair cut. This removed most of the damaged ends that had been created during the multiple dyes (there weren’t that many for me, but I still felt a haircut was necessary). Then, I used a deep conditioning treatment which restores the moisture you lose during the dying process. This made my hair feel soft, and look a lot healthier. After that, I used a silver shampoo and conditioner, in order to tone out any remaining blue hues. This worked perfectly, and I now have healthy, silver hair!


Hair stripper- http://www.boots.com/en/Colour-B4-Hair-Colour-Reismover-Includes-Conditioner-for-Frequent-Use_1422863?cm_mmc=bmm-_-google-_-PLAs-_-Boots%20Shopping%20-%20Category%20-%20Toiletries

First hair dye-http://www.boots.com/en/Schwarzkopf-Live-Color-XXL-Colour-Intense-Permanent-Coloration-00B-Max-Blonde_1180322/

Second hair dye-http://www.boots.com/en/Garnier-Olia-Permanent-Hair-Colour-7-0-Dark-Blonde_1282053/

Silver shampoo- http://www.boots.com/en/PRO-VOKE-Touch-Of-Silver-Colour-Care-Shampoo-200ml_1047907/

Silver Conditioner- http://www.boots.com/en/PRO-VOKE-Touch-Of-Silver-Colour-Care-Conditioner-200ml_1055581/

Hair Mask- http://www.boots.com/en/John-Frieda-Full-Repair-Deep-Conditioner-Mask-150ml_1246803/

Leave a comment